Information for Students

The foundation courses Systems Theory I-III as well as the courses Communications Engineering and Speech Communication provide a solid preparation for a successful completion of the coursework in the two majors: Communications Technology and Communications Acoustics.  Algorithms and digital signal processing play an important role in many areas of man-machine communication in particular in connection with virtual environments, acoustic scene analysis and quality assessment.

The Master of Science courses devote special attention to topics such as Speech Communication, Adaptive Systems, Signal Processing, Communications Acoustics and Auditory Acoustics. A wide spectrum of subjects is covered, ranging from physical and physiological principles to algorithms of signal processing and statistical procedures.

In addition, the Institute of Communications Acoustics offers student research projects, Bachelor theses, Master theses and Project theses, which allow students to pursue special topics in the domain in more depth and with an appropriate scientific rigor.

The training provided by the Institute lays the foundation for a variety of career opportunities in the areas of information technology and technical acoustics. Possible fields of employment for engineers with knowledge in speech and auditory signal processing and in acoustics are (amongst others):

  • Communications engineering, mobile communications (GSM, UTMS),

               in digital broadcasting etc.

  • Hearing aids and hearing instruments
  • Audio technology for professional and non-professional applications
  • Speech signal transmission (telecommunications/Voice-over-IP)
  • Product-Sound-Design
  • Quality measurement and assessment
  • Biomedical engineering
  • Speech technology (Spoken dialog systems)
  • Virtual environments and telepresence
  • Audiology and medical technology
  • Automotive technology
  • Noise control
  • Machine acoustics
  • Musical instrument design and production
  • Room and architectural acoustics
  • Vibration technology

Access to the physical aspects of acoustical phenomena is somewhat simplified for students of electrical engineering because the mathematical models of electromagnetic oscillation processes are very similar to the ones for acoustical and mechanical oscillation processes. Simple acoustical and mechanical systems can be treated as electrical networks by using electroacoustical and electromechanical analogies. In this way, not only electroacoustical components (such as microphones, loudspeakers, headphones) but also non-technical systems such as the human speech-production system or the human ear can be modeled more easily.  
 Electrical engineers are oftentimes unaccustomed to the special research methods of psychoacoustics for the study of human behavior during the perception and generation of acoustic signals. These methods are partly rooted in psychology and sociology. It is important to keep in mind that with most IT systems it is people who act as information sources and/or information sinks. In dealing with the delivery, perception and processing of this information it is therefore indispensible to consider human idiosyncrasies, especially in the configuration of man-machine interfaces for example.

Informationen für Studierende

Studierenden bieten die Vorlesungen Systemtheorie I - III und die Vorlesungen Nachrichtentechnik und Sprach- und Audiokommunikation eine gute Basis für das erfolgreiche Masterstudium der Kommunikationstechnik und speziell auch der Kommunikationsakustik. Algorithmen und digitale Signalverarbeitung spielen in vielen Bereichen der Mensch-Maschine Kommunikation aber auch im Zusammenhang mit virtuellen Umgebungen, der akustischen Szenenanalyse und der Qualitätsbeurteilung eine große Rolle.

Im Masterstudium werden insbesondere die Themen Sprachkommunikation, Adaptive Systeme, Signalverarbeitung, Kommunikationsakustik und Hörakustik vertieft. Dabei wird ein Bogen von den physikalischen und physiologischen Grundlagen zu den Algorithmen der Signalverarbeitung und statistischen Verfahren gespannt.

Das Institut bietet darüberhinaus Bachelor-, Master- und Projektarbeiten an, die eine wissenschaftlich fundierte Vertiefung einzelner Themen erlauben.

Die am Institut angebotene Ausbildung legt die Grundlage für vielfältige Berufstätigkeiten im Bereich der Informationstechnik, jedoch auch im Bereich der Technischen Akustik. Potentielle Tätigkeitsgebiete für Ingenieure mit Kenntnissen der Sprach- und Audiosignalverarbeitung und der Akustik sind unter anderem die folgenden:

 

  • Nachrichtentechnische Geräte im Mobilfunk (GSM, UMTS), im digitalen Rundfunk etc.
  • Hörgeräte
  • Audiotechnik für professionelle und Konsumanwendungen
  • Sprachsignalübertragung (Telekommunikation / Voice-over-IP)
  • Produkt-Sound-Design
  • Qualitätsmessung und Qualitätsbeurteilung
  • Medizintechnik
  • Sprachtechnologie (z.B. Sprachdialogsysteme)
  • Virtuelle Umgebung und Telepräsenz
  • Audiologie und Medizintechnik
  • Fahrzeugtechnik
  • Lärmbekämpfung
  • Maschinenakustik
  • Musikinstrumentenbau
  • Raum- und Bauakustik
  • Schwingungstechnik


Der Zugang zu den physikalischen Aspekten des Arbeitsgebietes ist für Studentinnen und Studenten der Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik dadurch erleichtert, dass die akustischen und mechanischen Schwingungen den elektromagnetischen Vorgängen in mancherlei Hinsicht ähneln. Einfache akustomechanische Systeme können unter Verwendung elektroakustischer und elektromechanischer Analogien wie elektrische Netzwerke behandelt werden. Auf diese Weise lassen sich nicht nur elektroakustische Komponenten (z. B. Mikrofone, Lautsprecher, Kopfhörer), sondern auch nichttechnische Systeme wie das spracherzeugende System des Menschen oder das Hörorgan vereinfacht modellieren.

Für Elektrotechniker etwas ungewohnt ist die in der Kommunikationsakustik vielfältige Anwendung psychophysikalischer Untersuchungsmethoden zum Studium des Verhaltens von Menschen bei der Wahrnehmung und Erzeugung akustischer Signale. Diese Methoden haben ihre Wurzeln zum Teil in Psychologie und Soziologie. Bedenkt man allerdings, dass bei den meisten Systemen der Informationstechnik die Informationsquellen, die Informationssenken, oder beide letztlich Menschen sind, wird unmittelbar deutlich, dass eine ingenieurmäßige Behandlung der Informationsabgabe, -aufnahme und -verarbeitung durch den Menschen unabdingbar ist - z.B. im Zusammenhang mit der Gestaltung von Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen.